History of CIMA

  • July 27, 1962 : Signature of the convention establishing the International Conference of Insurance Controls (CICA) with the following 13 States: Benin, Burkina, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Ivory Coast, Gabon, Mali, Niger, Senegal , Chad, Togo, Madagascar and France;

  • November 27, 1973 : Signature of a new agreement replacing the previous one without the participation of France and Madagascar, whose head office was Paris (France);

  • 1976 : Transfer of CICA headquarters to Libreville (Gabon);

  • September 20, 1990 : Statement of the CICA crisis leading to the signing of the “Cooperation Agreement for the Promotion and Development of the Insurance Industry” (CCDPIA). It is characterized by the creation of a Council of Insurance Ministers (CMA) and an Inter-State Insurance Control Commission;

  • April 25, 1991: At the initiative of the Ministers of Finance of the Franc Zone meeting in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso), a working group set up to germinate the idea of ​​an integrated organization of industry insurance;

  • July 10, 1992 : Signature of the Treaty establishing an Integrated Organization of the Insurance Industry in African States with as community organization the Inter-African Conference on Insurance Markets for short CIMA, in Yaoundé (Republic of Cameroon) by governments of the following 14 member states: Benin, Burkina, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Chad and Togo. But the Comoros has not ratified the Treaty;

  • April 20, 1994 : Entry into force of the CIMA Treaty which provides for the accession of any other African State which so wishes;

  • April 15, 2002 : The number of CIMA member states increased from thirteen (13) to fourteen (14) with the accession of Guinea Bissau.


History of the Secretaries General